partdanax.blogg.se

Otc genisys scan tool 3.0 upgrade
Otc genisys scan tool 3.0 upgrade




  1. OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE UPDATE
  2. OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE SOFTWARE UPGRADE
  3. OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE SOFTWARE

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE SOFTWARE

With the housing falling apart I really cant see myself updating the software if OTC wants to make it so difficult to just buy a piece of plastic from them.

OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE UPDATE

I was actually planning on buying the update package for it in July, although it is a little bit expensive, I thought the scanner was worth it. I dont think, at this point, another OTC scanner as a replacement would even be an option. While I can honestly say I have always thought very highly of my EVO. I wouldn't feel as frustrated if the damage was of my own doing but it is clearly a material quality issue that OTC should be willing to resolve. The users receive the most current code definitions and fixes on the tool today and the free update, valued at 850, will provide all the increased coverage planned for sale in 2014.

OTC GENISYS SCAN TOOL 3.0 UPGRADE SOFTWARE UPGRADE

31 will receive next year's Domestic/Asian/European software upgrade at no additional cost. $89 for labor to remove and replace 8 screws seems ridiculous to me. North American purchasers of OTC's Genisys EV line of scan tools from June 15 through Dec. If you are technically proficient enough to operate the EVO 4.0 I am sure you can handle replacing the back cover by yourself. They wont let me unless I send it in for repair. I really wish I could just order a back housing from them. When using internal battery power, the scan tool turns off automatically after a set time (see Unit Defaults in Adjust Default Settings on page 14). When using external power, the scan tool stays on until you turn it off. The plastic is extremely brittle and literally fall apart if you roll them between your fingers. Figure 1.6: Classic Scan Tool Top View Figure 1.7: Scan Tool Top View 1 On / Off Button turns the scan tool on and off. All 6 of the external perimeter mounting screws have the mounting posts just falling apart. The black plastic the back is made of is just crumbling around the mounting points. The back cover is not broken due to abuse, neglect, or misuse. The scanner has never been dropped, always stored in the suitcase it came in, and well taken care of. I really like my OTC Genisys EVO but at $40 shipping, $89 labor, $70 return shipping plus the cost of the part (which is unknown) I would be into repairing the back cover for over $200 without the cost of the part. Then I would have to pay for return shipping, which I was told could range between $60 and $70. The $89 does not cover the cost of the part, which the repair tech had no idea of how much the part would cost until I sent it in for repair. Then they will charge me $89 for labor to remove 8 screws, swap covers, and reinstall the 8 screws. So first I have to pay $30 to $40 to ship the item to OTC. I can not purchase the part from OTC but they will be willing to repair it if I send it in. I was told that the back housing is available but only to the OTC Repair department. This person was not nearly as helpful or at least it did not seem they had any concern for getting the issue resolved. I was then transferred to a technician in the repair department. The first person I spoke to was in tech support, he was very helpful and really tried to help but could not find any options for my problem. I spoke to OTC (Bosch) Tech support this morning. If anyone has an old Genisys EVO that is not working and would be willing to sell me the back half of the housing let me know.Īlso If anyone knows where I could find one that I could buy please let me know.






Otc genisys scan tool 3.0 upgrade